Petrol pumps to be closed on Sundays in eight states from 14 May

Petrol pumps to be closed on Sundays in eight states from 14 May


Chennai: Beginning 14 May, oil pumps in eight states will be shut on Sundays taking after Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s call to monitor oil, a fuel pump proprietors’ body said in Chennai on Tuesday.

“We had wanted to close our outlets on Sundays a couple of years back. Be that as it may, oil advertising organizations had then asked for us to re-examine our choice. Presently we have chosen to close the outlets on Sundays,” said Suresh Kumar, an official advisory group individual from the consortium of Indian oil merchants. He said the affiliation’s choice was made in perspective of the Prime Minister’s call amid his current “mann ki baat” program to moderate oil to spare nature.

Kumar, additionally the VP of Tamil Nadu Petroleum Dealers Association, said about 20,000 outlets in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Maharashtra and Haryana would be closed for 24 hours on Sundays, beginning 14 May.

petrol pumps, petrol pumps closed on sundays, petrol, getallatoneplace

“In Tamil Nadu, we expect a business loss of Rs150 crore on the off chance that we don’t work on a Sunday. Be that as it may, we have been seeing a decrease in deals on Sundays by up to 40%,” he said.

Inquired as to whether the affiliation’s choice was upheld by the oil advertising organizations (OMCs), he stated, “We will convey our choice to them in the blink of an eye.” Kumar said the petroleum pumps which ordinarily have around 15 staff each would have one staff part on the occasions to give fuel if there is a crisis circumstance.

On the issue of OMCs climbing the edges to oil outlets, he said the affiliation was examining it and would soon make a declaration in such manner. “That battle is going on. We are meeting our affiliation individuals presently. We will report our choice soon,” he said.



Leave a Reply